2016 Annual Conference

Conference and Meeting: March 17-18, 2016

Pre-conference Professional Development Workshops: March 16, 2016

The Society for Benefit-Cost Analysis (SBCA) is an international group of practitioners, academics and others who are working to improve the theory and application of the tools of benefit-cost analysis. Please join us at our Eighth Annual Conference and Meeting.

Primary sponsorship of the 2016 conference is provided by the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation. Additional sponsors include: American Chemistry Council, The GW Regulatory Studies Center and Stata Corp LP. 

Jump to:

Conference Program

The conference program agenda is now available, and presentation abstracts are online. **Please note that the information in this program is preliminary and subject to change before and/or during the annual conference.**

Final conference program book.pdf

This year's keynote address will be a discussion on benefit-cost analysis and regulatory reform with Senator Heidi Heitkamp (D) of North Dakota and Senator James Lankford (R) of Oklahoma, moderated by SBCA President Susan Dudley. Chairman James Lankford and Ranking Member Heidi Heitkamp lead the Regulatory Affairs and Federal Management Senate Subcomittee. Their address will take place during lunch on Thursday, March 17. 


Online registration is now open. We encourage you to register early to take advantage of lower rates. You may also register by mail using this form:  Hard copy registration form

2016 registration rates will be as follows:

EARLY BIRD REGISTRATION (before January 31, 2016 11:59 PM PST)

  • $335 for 2016 Society members
  • $500 for non-members
  • $150 for 2016 student members or students enrolled full-time at a 2016 Organizational Affiliate

REGULAR REGISTRATION (from February 1 through March 15, 2016)

  • $415 for 2016 Society members
  • $580 for non-members
  • $175 for 2016 student members or students enrolled at a 2016 Organizational Affiliate

ON-SITE REGISTRATION (March 16-18, 2016)

  • $495 for 2016 Society members
  • $660 for non-members
  • $200 for 2016 student members or students enrolled at a 2016 Organizational Affiliate


Any cancellation requests must be received via telephone or by email by 11:59 p.m. PST on January 31, 2016 to be eligible for a refund of the entire registration fee. Cancellation requests received after 11:59 p.m. PST on January 31, 2016 and before 11:59 p.m. PST on February 21, 2016 will be subject to a $75 cancellation fee. After 11:59 p.m. PST on February 21, the registrant shall be liable for the full registration fee. Refunds will not be given for no-shows. Email inquiries to sbcainfo@uw.edu or phone 206.616.4090.

Event Sponsorship Opportunities

We invite you to support the Society and highlight the role of your organization by sponsoring a conference event, for amounts ranging from $1,500 to $3,500.  To sponsor a conference event please complete and return the event sponsorship form below as soon as possible. Sponsorship opportunities are limited.

Sponsorship information and commitment form

Exhibitor and Advertising Opportunities

If you are interested in demonstrating products, software, books or journals and attracting new students, employees, and clients, consider advertising or exhibiting with us. To submit a request for advertisement or exhibition table please complete and return the commitment form below. The deadline for submissions is February 19, 2016.

Exhibit and advertiser information and commitment form

Conference Venue and Hotels

The Marvin Center at the George Washington University (red pin in the map below)

800 21st St. NW, Washington, D.C. 20052

One Washington Circle Hotel (blue pin in the map below)

One Washington Circle, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20037

The hotel block reservation period has now closed. 

Melrose Georgetown Hotel (green pin in the map below)

2430 Pennsylvania Avenue N.W., Washington, D.C. 20037

The block of rooms at the Melrose Hotel is now full and they are no longer accepting reservations at the block rate. 

2016 Program Committee

  • Susan Dudley, Chair (GW Regulatory Studies Center)
  • Richard Belzer (Regulatory Checkbook)
  • Sandra Hoffmann (U.S. Department of Agriculture)
  • Lynn Karoly (RAND Corporation)
  • Don Kenkel (Cornell University)
  • Clark Nardinelli (U.S. Food and Drug Administration)
  • Emile Quinet (Ecole des Ponts-Paris)
  • Stuart Shapiro (Rutgers University)
  • Anne Smith (NERA Economic Consulting)
  • Craig Thornton (Mathematica Policy Research)
  • Gary VanLandingham (The Pew Charitable Trusts)
  • Jack Wells (retired - U.S. Department of Transportation)

2016 Workshop Subcommittee

  • Aylin Sertkaya, Chair (Eastern Research Group)
  • Susan Dudley (GW Regulatory Studies Center)
  • Elisabeth Gilmore (University of Maryland)
  • Lynn Karoly (RAND Corporation)
  • Lisa Robinson (Harvard Center for Risk Analysis)
  • Stuart Shapiro (Rutgers University)
  • Darcy White (The Pew Charitable Trusts)