2019 Annual Conference

Thank you to everyone who was involved in the production of SBCA’s 11th Annual Conference and Meeting, including all of our speakers, presenters, and participants. Without everyone offereing their time and expertise, this truly engaging conference would not happen. The 2019 conference highlights include a registration of just under 350 individuals who networked and attended 40+ sessions over two days focused on the Width & Breath of Benefit-Cost Analysis.

2019 SBCA Annual Conference Final Program: 2019 Final Program

View a complete list of Abstracts :  2019 Conference Abstracts

Conference Overview:

The theme for this year’s SBCA Annual Conference and Meeting is Thinking About the Width and Breadth of Benefit-Cost Analysis. The theme recognizes that benefit-cost analysis is not a narrow guide to investment projects but in fact covers the whole range of private and public evaluations and decisions. As the panels in this year’s conference show, benefit-cost analysis applies globally,  speaking both geographically and by subject matter. The subjects for benefit-cost analysis include climate change, investment in infrastructure, health disparities, economic development around the world, monetary reforms, tax policies, the safety of workers and food and much else.  Thinking about benefits and costs is how we assess social well-being.

2019 SBCA Annual Conference Sponsors:

Exxon Mobil - Opening Welcome Reception

American Chemical Council - Keynote Luncheon

American Petroleum Institute - Membership Luncheon

The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation and the Center for Health Decision Science, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health - Closing Reception

Regulatory Studies Center, The George Washington University - Conference Facility


  • $465 for 2019 Society members
  • $630 for non-members
  • $175 for 2019 student members or students enrolled at a 2019 Organizational Affiliate


  • $545 for 2019 Society members
  • $710 for non-members
  • $200 for 2019 student members or students enrolled at a 2019 Organizational Affiliate


Any cancellation requests must be received via telephone or by email by 11:59 p.m. EST on January 31, 2019 to be eligible for a refund of the entire registration fee. Cancellation requests received after 11:59 p.m. EST on January 31, 2019 and before 11:59 p.m. EST on February 22, 2019 will be subject to a $75 cancellation fee. After 11:59 p.m. EST on February 22, 2019 the registrant shall be liable for the full registration fee. Refunds will not be given for no-shows. Email inquiries to info@benefitcostanalysis.org or phone 703-234-4129.

Event Sponsorship Opportunities

We invite you to support the Society and highlight the role of your organization by sponsoring a conference event. To sponsor a conference event please complete and return the event sponsorship form below as soon as possible. Sponsorship opportunities are limited.  Sponsorship information and commitment form

SBCA 2019 Sponsorship Opportunities

Exhibitor and Advertising Opportunities 

If you are interested in demonstrating products, software, books or journals and attracting new students, employees, and clients, consider advertising or exhibiting with us. To submit a request for advertisement or exhibition table please complete and return the commitment form below.

SBCA19 Exhibitor and Advertiser Opportunities_Final.pdf


The Marvin Center at the George Washington University 

800 21st St. NW, Washington, D.C. 20052


Melrose Georgetown Hotel

2019 Conference Program Committee

  • Clark Nardinelli, Chair (U.S. Food & Drug Administration)
  • Kenneth Acks (The Cost-Benefit Group)
  • Daniel Acland (UC Berkeley)
  • Eliane Catilina, (Environmental Protection Agency)
  • Susan Dudley (The George Washington University)
  • Andrew Estrin (U.S. Food & Drug Administration)
  • Michael Getzner (Vienna University of Technology)
  • Sue Hamann (National Institutes of Health)
  • Lynn Karoly (RAND Corporation)
  • Steven Lize (Pew Charitable Trusts)
  • Jerome Massiani (Ca Foscari University)
  • Kyle Rozema (University of Chicago)
  • John Whitehead (Appalachian State University)
  • Tomeka Williams (MITRE Corporation)
  • Richard Zerbe (University of Washington)

2019 Workshop Subcommittee

  • Steven Lize, Chair (Pew Charitable Trusts)
  • Jennifer Baxter (Industrial Economics, Inc.)
  • Cristina McLaughlin (U.S. Food & Drug Administration)
  • Clark Nardinelli (U.S. Food & Drug Administration)
  • Lisa Robinson (Harvard University)
  • Stuart Shapiro (Rutgers University)